Make your own free website on Tripod.com



Holla Kirke, sydsiden - utsikt mot Norsjø.
South side of church - view towards lake.
Foto: Eivind Martinsen.


   pproximately two-thirds of the services in Holla parish are held in Holla church. It is also used for concerts and other arrangements. The area around the church is partly parkland and partly graveyard. The churchyard was established when the church was built in 1867 and is no longer in use.

   he staff at the church is the same as the rest of the parish: priest, organist and two vergers/caretakers. The most recent addition to the staff is the English organist Christopher Denton. His contribution has been an inspiration and has breathed “new life”  into services!

   he church is the main meeting point for the congregation and was restored and repaired in time for the 125th anniversary in 1992. The fact that the building is particularly suited to collective worship can in part be attributed to the choice of colours internally, based on schemes contemporary with the church. The congregation still lacks a room that could be used for meetings of a more social nature however.
   he church is built with bricks from Ulefoss brickworks and timber from the surrounding forests. The architect was Holtermann and master builder Bauer, from Germany, supervised the building.

   n 25th September 1867 Bishop Jakob von der Lippe, assisted by the Rural Dean and 10 other priests from the Deanery, dedicated the church. The following year the local mill owner Niels Aall donated a new organ to the church. This had “such power and body that it contributed to church attendance”.

   ven though the church was thought to be beautiful and adequate at the time of building some shortcomings became evident. It was usual for the families of children to be baptised to sit down near the door, and a baptism sacristy was desirable. During the First World War ..........READ MORE
( Translation from Norwegian by Christopher John Denton, - musical director of Holla parrish. )
Webmaster: